1st Edition

Economics in Russia
Studies in Intellectual History





ISBN 9781138265547
Published November 29, 2016 by Routledge
220 Pages

USD $62.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Preview

Book Description

The history of Russian economic ideas from the sixteenth century to contemporary times is a fascinating, tumultuous yet neglected topic among Western scholars. Whilst over the last 15 years increasing amounts of work has been done on the subject, co-operation between Russian and Western researchers in this field leaves much to be desired. In order to improve this situation, this volume unites Russian and non-Russian researchers together to provide an overview of the current state of the topic and to give a stimulus for further research. Bringing together scholars from the UK, Germany, Japan, Australia, Finland and Russia, the collection puts forward differing, yet complimentary, perspectives on the long-term history of Russian economic ideas. Offering a broad collection of articles covering the period from the seventeenth to the twentieth centuries, authors have approached the subject from diverse theoretical angles. Contributions in the tradition of Blaug and Schumpeter focusing on economic analysis in a narrower sense, and contributions that - in line with authors like Pribram or Perlman/McCann - deal with economic thought in the context of history and culture, are all represented. In terms of content, the editors have encouraged approaches that represent different economic traditions in order to encourage a diversity of opinions on the national development of Russian economics. As such the volume offers a broad and very relevant assessment of the subject for both historians and economists alike.

Author(s)

Biography

Dr Vincent Barnett, Bedfordshire University, UK and Dr Joachim Zweynert, Hamburg Institute of International Economics, Germany.

Reviews

’Economics in Russia can be recommended as a nicely designed and executed collection of essays which provides insight into a history of economic thought in some respects different from that of the West and in other respects rather similar.’ EH.NET ’This well-informed collection will be useful to all those interested in the history of economic thought in general or in Russian economic thought in particular. Its authors are leading specialists and most readers will find much material of which they were previously unaware’ Economic History Review ’A reader interested in Russian economics will find this book thought-provoking and overall fulfilling its promises. ...[it is] an important work that should stimulate a deeper interest in history of Russian economic thought...’ Journal of the History of Economic Thought ’Clearly this excellent book is for a specialist audience, but it will be accessible and useful not only to historians of economic thought but also to historians of Russia and more broadly of the history of ideas.’ Slavonic and East European Review